PDA

View Full Version : Autopia - or is it Utopia? - How long to use a PC in one area?

Lostsoulal2
02-19-2005, 06:56 AM
I just joined Autopia and wanted to thank David and Lorry (Shipping Manager) for making my first foray and purchase into this wonderful detailing world so painless.

From my inital enquiry to actually receiving my PC + bits and pieces took less than 5 days and this was delivery into the United Kingdom. Responding to my e-mails was almost immediate, this is the kind of service that sadly is lacking here in the UK.

Even the packaging was excellence itself and the boxes will serve as a temporary means of storage for all the polishes and waxes etc that I will no doubt be accumalating. - Utopia

Anyway, back to the question - How long can I use my PC in one area to remedy paintwork defects??

As a Newbie I am a bit nervous about damaging my paintwork - I had some very minor swirl marks/scratches probably caused by cleaning cloths/sponges and to start off I used an Orange Sonus Pad with Meguairs no 83 DACP.

For the bonnet area I used a dab about an inch (2.5cm) in diameter and followed the guide of going over slowly East/West and then North/South - I guess the whole bonnet took about 5-10 mins - each area getting the 4 passes + the PC was on setting no 3/4 - when I stopped the polish was still present on the bonnet in a form of a damp wet haze (I had primed the pad with a quick detailer liquid before using for the first time)

But after cleaning it off with a MF cloth (I then used the Sonus Green pad again with the No 83) and looking under an inspection light I can still make out some marks - they look like very small hairline or thinner scratches.

In normal daylight they are not visible, but under an inspection light in the garage I can see them from about 6 inches away - is this me getting too close?