PDA

View Full Version : Autoglym Extra Gloss protection

Richt
02-06-2005, 11:39 AM
Does it add anything to the look of the Super Resin below it for you?

I have been using Autoglym for the last 10 years and through this something has always had me thinking about this.

Autoglym market this product as Extra Gloss Protection.

Purely on an appearance side of things after polishing with Super Resin and them applying extra gloss, there does not seem to be any `extra gloss` is this me not being able to see any difference, is there no difference, maybe down to the colour of paint?

I have tried the combo on most colours, red, white, light & dark blues, silver, gold, metallic grey and black. One one colour a dark green one my old car I actually preferred the look of Super resin before the extra gloss.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v354/RichTreen/309trax2000.jpg

The surface always feels more glass like and slick after the application of the extra gloss so it is doing something.

Put my thoughts to the test this afternoon and did dome half and half panels on my dad`s car and in look no difference just a more slick, glass like feel to the paint on the EG side.

Is the EG purely for protection? The EG is said to be a lot more durable than the SRP so is this purpose?

I cant comment on durability as I cant ever force my self not to top it, and cant go more than a month before trying something else on my paint anyway!

Alfisti
02-06-2005, 11:49 AM
SRP is an outstanding stand-alone product, as you`ve discovered.

EGP does improve protection and slickness (which also augments protection).

I find EGP also provides a cosmetic improvement. On dark blue or black I find it darkens the colour noticably, but also improves depth on most other colours. Slightly softer look but wetter. Must be the carnauba component.

BTW, the pug looks glossy!

Nick M
02-06-2005, 11:54 AM