PDA

View Full Version : My Klasse Kit has arrived - some questions...

Pages : [1] 2

5DX
02-02-2005, 11:43 PM
Hello Autopians,

I plan on (depending on weather) applying my first layer of the Klasse AIO and SG this weekend. It will be on a white 2001 CRV with what appears to have a good finish to start with (I bought it used, but its been garaged and cared for). Since I am new to serious auto-finish maintenance/detailing, I have a few questions.

1) Do I need to let each stage "cure" for any period of time before applying the next?

2) Similarly, do I need to wait a period of time before exposing the finished job to any weather?

3) Does SG or AIO put any white residue on the plastic trim (haze)? -thus needing to be taped off.

4) Can the SG be used on the clear plastic headlights to help deter the inevitable yellowing (I plan on keeping the car for about another 10 years!)?

5) Which would you recommend for maintenance, the Sonus Acrylic Glanz or the Spritz.

6) Lastly, can you think of anything else?

Thanks!!!!! :xyxthumbs

TW85 HHI
02-02-2005, 11:49 PM
I`ll answer the first four questions:

1) You can go directly to SG from AIO. If you are going to do multiple layers of SG then it is recommended to wait at least 24 hours before applying the additional layer.

2) I`ve never had a problem with exposing AIO or SG to the weather after application. In a perfect world we would all keep the car(s) in a garage for 24 hours or at least overnight but this isn`t a perfect world. ;)

3) No. In fact, carry the AIO and SG right onto the trim. Better than any trim dressing, IMO.

4) Yes. I always carry whatever paint products I am using onto the lights. Usually it is cleaner, sealant, and carnauba.

holland_patrick
02-02-2005, 11:51 PM
1 aio no SG yes

2 sg yes try not to get it wet..for 12 hours

3 NO HAZE

4 NOT SURE

5 not sure..

6 WIPE ONE WIPE OFF

Gonzo
02-03-2005, 07:30 AM
Use a clay bar after a wash but before the AIO to get the paint really clean and smooth.