PDA

View Full Version : Scratch removal question

f4igrad
01-30-2005, 05:42 PM
Hey folks

I am new to all of this, and I have done some searches but still haven`t been able to find a good answer to my problem. I have a black 2001 Pathfinder that has some paint problems due to the previous owner. I think they took it off road a bit. I have some scratches that are white, but don`t seem to be too terribly deep. I can run my nail across them and it doesn`t really catch or make a sound. I have a cheapo orbital buffer and I bought some Turtle Wax light duty polishing compound and some heavy duty polishing compound. I also have some swirl remover. I have been working on these scratches for a while, but even after putting the heavy duty polishing compound on the orbital buffer and working on the scratches for a solid 5 - 10 minutes, they are still there (although much less noticeable). Any suggestions on what I can try next to remove the scratches? I don`t want to do anything that will mess up the paint and require paying $$$ to an auto body place to get it looking good again. Maybe I need to try wet sanding next??

scottabir
01-30-2005, 05:54 PM
I dont think you need to wetsand them. What kind of orbital are you using? The ones from sears type where you put a terry bonnet over a foam pad?

I fear that if you wetsand and try to remove the marks with your orbital machine they will not come out too well. I have not tried the TW polishes so in that respect I cant tell you how abrasive they are and what they are capabale of doing.

If *I* was in your shoes I would take a look at the PC, Cyclo, Dewalt D/A machines with some good foam pads.

I dont know your budget or if you want to spend the money buying equipment and polishes ect.

But a quality D/A machine is a great place to start. and well worth the money spent for the use you can get out of them for the future.

f4igrad
01-30-2005, 06:12 PM
thanks for your reply