PDA

View Full Version : buy a rotory or stronger polish

whiteowl
01-26-2005, 07:42 PM
I have been using my 7424 for about 6 months now. Some cars still have defects(no scratches you can feel by finger nail)buy can see if you look hard,on dark cars. I have tryed FP & IP STILL not satified with the results. I could try SSR2 before I buy a rotory. I have been around cleaning cars for 40 years, so not afraid to buy a high speed buffer. I plan on foam pads at 1000 rpm if I go there. I do have daily drivers to practice on before I go after my wife`s new maxima.Will I ever by happy with the PC alone? I know it is very useful. I have seen some ausome defects that guys get out with the PC on this web site. I am not afraid to buy different products if need be. Have most of the stuff guys are using on this site. Not afraid to buy a rotory just need a little nudge. Thanks:xyxthumbs

Bill D
01-26-2005, 07:49 PM
I felt similarly and bought a rotary. I wish I had the extensive background as you though. I wound up having "The Trinity": PC, rotary and Cyclo. I have all three for the fun of using each machine more than anything else.

The PC can still do a wonderful job on micromarring of course depending on technique, pads,hardness of the paint and propducts use I would say in that order.

I don`t think it will be a mistake or you will regret it if you choose to add a rotary to your arsenal.

RedondoV6
01-26-2005, 07:59 PM
Two products you might consider: PB`s SSR2.5 and my favorite, 3M PI-III RC followed by the MG. I find both more agressive than IP and they work well with a PC.

gbackus
01-26-2005, 08:37 PM