PDA

View Full Version : Need instant reponse on polish!!!!

Pages : [1] 2

Acura92
01-17-2005, 05:15 PM
ok i`m a newbie at detailing. this is my first time using polish and all that (before it was all just hand wax and that was it)

i`m about to polish my car using meguiar`s #7 show car glaze. on my PC, what should i set the speed at and do i just let the product work itself in or do i just need to spread the polish around my car? I used colorx prior to this step and it took me a long time because i was trying to fill the car and remove some of the scratches. now its polish time so do i need to work the product in again/

btw, my hands are tired. lol.

joshcaro
01-17-2005, 05:19 PM
Well from personal experience #7 is not worth working with. It really doesnt do anything to your car besides providing a wet looking surface for a few days at the most. Its primary use is for people in car events who want that extremely wet look for the show. Other than that I dont think theres anything to it.

Also what exactly are you wanting to do? Scratches, swirls, oxidation?

I have also found that ColorX is not good at scratches but works awesome on oxidation.

Acura92
01-17-2005, 05:23 PM
yea. i had #2 for removing swirls but i`m not the best at rotary so i returned it. the colorx i had left in my cabinet for a while so i decided to use it. it removed all my fine scratches and swirls though!.

#7 was given to me as a gift. I gotta make use of it (going to sell the other car soon so hopefully the buyer will be in shock for an old car. lol.

but i`m going to test the #7 anyways and top it off with #26 hi-tech wax. durability isn`t an issue as long and it dosen`t fade overnight. lol. i`m experimenting with combinations of stuff so i want to see which one works best for me.

so do i just apply the polish? or do i have to work the polish in?

DSVWGLI
01-17-2005, 05:24 PM