PDA

View Full Version : zaino drying time

colche
01-04-2005, 12:02 AM
Hi all,

Let me first say that I am new to autopia having only discovered it about 1 month ago and have found it a wealth of knowledge and information. I have gradually become more `obsessed` with detailing but i see i am very much a greenhorn compared to many of the devotees on this forum.

Anyway, I recently recieved the Zaino pack for xmas, and did the the whole Dawn, Clay, Z7, AIO, Z1, Z2/Z6 combo (x3).

The car looks good, feels very slick and is beading nicely -- but something is still bothering me...

When I applied the Z2 it seemed to me to dry pretty quickly (almost instant). In fact I could have sworn the first section was dry by the time i did the entire car (20+ minutes?)

Now judging from the posts here and on all the instructions everywhere it is supposed to take a long time to dry? The instructions that came with the pack said to wait at least 1 hour, from memory other instructions i found on the web suggest to wait 6+ hours if in the sun or over 60oF or up to 24 hours if humid.

As I had the luxury of leaving the car in the garage over xmas I took no chances [I left each coat at least a whole night (8 hours) to dry and the whole day (12+ hours) to cure after wiping before applying another coat. ]. However, for future coats I will not be so fortunate.