PDA

View Full Version : have a PC 7424 now what help!

enhanced250
01-02-2005, 03:40 PM
I have a Super Black 350z with light swirls i currently have the Porter Cable 7424 and want to buy pads and products

i was thinking

Sonus SFX-2 with the SFX2 polish (for the swirls)

then

Sonus SFX-3 with the SFX3 polish

the finish it up with the SOnus blue pad and a good carnuba wax(any sugegstions also what is the difference between sealent and wax)

Im up for any suggestions please help because im new with the Porter cable i used to just use a random orbital with a terry bonnet now there are soo many choices i dont know what to do!!!

Thanks

JeffM
01-02-2005, 04:23 PM
I would get a pad "kit" that includes the backing plate, cutting pad, polish, and finish. Reason being is that you will someday need the cutting pad, and the kits are priced so that you basicly get a free pad.

I like to apply my wax or sealent by hand though. They are easy on and easy off, so i dont bother with the pc.

If your paint is in pretty good condition, you will only need to use one polish on it, then go right into your finishing.

One word of advice though, clay. You probably need it. You wouldnt want a particle to come loose while you polish and scuff up your paint.

The "learn" button up top has loads of cool info in it.

Welcome to the forum, i just recently found this place, and the people here are very helpful and friendly.

JasonD
01-02-2005, 04:45 PM
You will soon find that your the possibilities and choices are endless, but in the end, all that matters is that you are happy with your particular combination. Before you get so far into what products to choose, I highly recommend doing some research on what the different products are and how to correctly use them. The process is more important than the product. You can find great info and links here on this site, www.bettercarcare.com, and many others.

04Runner
01-02-2005, 05:07 PM