PDA

View Full Version : Meguiars Hot Tire Spray: Weather and Age limitations ?

HondaMan
11-11-2004, 02:09 PM
I did my fathers 3-year old Mitsubishi over the weekend...hit the tires with the spray and then I noticed 3 days later that they were completely dry and looked like they had before I hit them. Anybody ever notice this before? The only thing I can think of is that the older tires somehow "absorbed" the hexand or whatever gives that wet, dark black look.

I also did my tires on my new Honda over the weekend...they`re still black but look like they`ve aged faster than the last time I reported back here (3 weeks is what they lasted)....I`m wondering if the colder temperature is affecting the ability of the MHTS to keep the tires black and wet? My car is garaged at night, but outside during the day; dad`s is outside all the time (hehehe).

05SilverTRD
11-11-2004, 02:26 PM
I can`t say too much about the cold weather, I live in So. Cal. However, I have had some experience with older tires. I belive that they do soak up some of the stuff we put on them. I have expereinced this with Meguiars Hot Tire and other sprays, I had better luck with gels like Meguiars Tire Gel on older tires. You have to apply the gel lightly though to eliminate spin off.

Katieee
11-15-2004, 01:57 AM
I live in Norcal and since its been colder I haven`t really noticed a difference in the HTS` lasting ability. My tires are a few years old and this seems to be the only thing that doesn`t just soak quickly. The only problem I have had with the HTS is that it doesn`t last during rains but I don`t know most products would either.

John Styrnol
11-15-2004, 12:58 PM
The only problem I have had with the HTS is that it doesn`t last during rains but I don`t know most products would either.

Katieee,