PDA

View Full Version : SONUS DAS pads question

imported_The Uncle
12-04-2004, 12:20 PM
Before I post this question, I just want to acknowledge that I am a complete NOOB with recard to the PC. Based on advice I got here, I bought a Porter Cable and the SONUS DAS pad set. I`m about to begin my "major" detail for the season. My plan is to wash, clay, AIO, SG X 3, and then UPP. However, in last year my car has picked up a few minor scratches on the hood and trunk. I`m very careful about washing so there are no real swirl marks, but there are fine scratches from road debris and stuff of that nature.

So, I`ve been thinking about going over the car with #9 before the AIO (I know #9 is gentle, I just don`t see much of a need for anything more aggressive). I thought I would use the green pad with #9, and the blue pad with AIO. I`ll apply the SG and UPP by hand.

My only real concern here is about the green pad. How abbrassive is it, and if I use the green pad and #9, do I risk causing any problems with the finish?

I wonder if a safer strategy for a new user like myself, might be to just try using the blue pad with AIO and worry about removing any minor imperfections in the spring, when I am a bit more comfortable with the process.

I know these are basic questions, but hope that one of you patient experts can help!

JasonD
12-04-2004, 03:13 PM