PDA

View Full Version : Washing in the rain?

Pages : [1] 2

thedarksyde
12-01-2004, 09:39 AM
Is there any reason not to wash your car in the rain?

If you did the wash while it was raining, but was light isnt this just a shower rinse going the whole time, and then when you are done pull it into the garage to dry with the MFs?

Is there something about rain water, that is not good that would make it a bad idea to wash a car if it was raining?

cwcad
12-01-2004, 09:45 AM
although i am not an expert i often use the rain to help in my detailing of my vehicle. of course i do it every day. wether it is raining or not!!

googledude
12-01-2004, 10:00 AM
I don`t think the rain is as clean of water to use. It is falling through all the polloution and contaminants in the atmosphere and onto your "clean" car, then you are wiping this water around when you dry the car. I don`t really know if it would be a problem or not, but just seems safer to use a hose.

imported_fireberd350
12-01-2004, 10:02 AM
You would get all wet!

If you have a garage then invest in QEW and wash the car in the comfort of your garage w/ a bucket!

imported_Aurora40
12-01-2004, 10:31 AM
I think if you had to, there`s no harm in it. I mean, your car isn`t gonna be spot-free if it`s actively raining on it, but at least it will be cleaner. I`ve had to finish up washes in the pouring rain before. Usually it`s just because the car was sooo dirty that I didn`t care it was supposed to rain. I would just sort of dry them with light towel passes so that there wasn`t a bunch of hose water on the car to leave hard water spots.

BookemDano
12-01-2004, 10:49 AM
A foam gun might work very well for this.

Lowejackson
12-01-2004, 11:24 AM
The problem with rain is all the dirt including minerals, it contains. Although sometimes washing in the rain cannot be avoided

JaredPointer
12-01-2004, 12:12 PM
Originally posted by googledude