PDA

View Full Version : which color polishing pad should I use?

93mr2red
11-16-2004, 08:30 PM
I am purchasing the 7424 dual action pc.

I will be polishing a red car with a hazy oxidation.

I will be using duragloss pre cleaner first, followed by duragloss polish.

This is my first time using a pc.

Which color sponge should I use to apply what product?

Thanks

Thomas Dekany
11-16-2004, 10:42 PM
I`d use a polishing pad (white from LC) for both products. But since we don`t know much about the paint, you may need to use a cutting (yellow LC) pad with the pre cleaner. Hope this helps.

audio1der
11-17-2004, 06:50 AM
I`ve been reading more and more threads where guys use LC white pads for everything, making me think buying only 1 yellow pad would suffice (along with 3 white and 1 gray).

I thought it would take a yellow pad to take care of decent oxidation or scratches- was I wrong?

(I thought this was right in line with the thread- excuse me if it is not!)

:nixweiss

Eliot Ness
11-17-2004, 06:55 AM
Originally posted by audio1der

....... making me think buying only 1 yellow pad would suffice (along with 3 white and 1 gray)........

I find the LC or Sonus orange (light cutting/polishing) pad to be very handy to have around. More bite than the polishing pads and not as aggressive as the yellow.

BookemDano
11-17-2004, 07:02 AM
I use rarely use my LC Constant Pressure Yellow pad. White is my "go to" pad, with Orange for the heavier stuff. I have the black (AKA gray) pad for glazing, but I rarely use it. I like the Red pad much better for LSP.

I have a set of both 6" and 7.5" LC CP pads. I like the 7.5" better, but I`d recommend the 6" for a newbie.

My primary polishes are Menzerna IP and FPII My LSP is Zaino Z2 and Z5.

Regards,

Dan.

togwt
11-17-2004, 09:25 AM
~One manâ€â„¢s opinion / observations~

Foam Pad Selection:

Cutting (*Yellow):