PDA

View Full Version : orbital waxer/polisher

93mr2red
11-15-2004, 07:26 PM
I just purchased a powermate 6" orbital waxer/polisher today from wal mart. It only has an on and off switch, no speeds.

I have never used an orbital polisher before. I have read the article on how to, but they did not show any bonnets.

Is it best to use the sponge on the polisher or is it best to use one of the bonnets supplied.

They supply 2 bonnets.

1 terry cloth

1 wool

Is this polisher going to do the job or would it be better to buy a more expensive one?

Which bonnet should I use or is it best to use only the sponge part?

will wool scratch and cause swirl marks?

93mr2red
11-15-2004, 08:04 PM
what is the difference in an Orbital waxer/polisher and a Random Orbital waxer/polisher?

Thomas Dekany
11-15-2004, 08:10 PM
it will be ok for now - get some expeience with it. Foam pads are best. What size pads are they?

wash-girl
11-15-2004, 10:10 PM
It probably won`t do much of a job on swirls, but it will sure speed up paint cleaning and wax application. My suggestion would be to use the terry bonnet for paint cleaning, since it has a little more "cut," and get yourself one of the Turtle Wax foam bonnets from AutoZone/PepBoys/Advance for applying your sealant or wax. I don`t think the foam pad that is attached to it is meant to be used as an applicator.

isinoh
11-16-2004, 06:25 AM
People around here will tell you that it`s a piece of junk and can`t get rid of swirls. I say that they are wrong!

I couldn`t justfy going out and spending $150+ on a PC and all of the accessories so I Macguyvered my dad`s Craftsman buffer that was collecting dust in his garage.

Here`s what I did:

1) Throw away the bonnets.

2) Cut off the foam pad to expose the plastic backing plate and remove any foam/adhesive residue.

3) Stick a few small tabs of industrial strength velcro to the clean backing plate. It`s important to get good adhesion or the velcro may come off with the pad.