PDA

View Full Version : MF towels vs cotton

Asonyexec
11-13-2004, 10:48 PM
Admittedly I am new to this whole detail game, at least at this level. While perusing this message board I have seen a number of write ups on MF towels. I dont get it, what is the big deal with MF towels? How are they superior to the old fashion cotton towels? I have read all the write ups about how MF is made and how it looks under 100x magnification etc.

I have seen the MF towels at various stores and their "thin-ness" concerns me. I just finished polishing and waxing my car today and used a few of the 15 or so 100% cotton towels I have and I had no problem. I lilke the way you can fold up a cotton towel and it creates a nice thick pad to buff away residue polish or wax. I wash them without bleach or softeners and keep them very clean.

So what gives? Help this new guy understand the new "towel" technology that is MF.

:nixweiss

Thanks

DSVWGLI
11-13-2004, 11:05 PM
:wavey Welcome Asonyexec, you should go to the learn tab at the top of the home page then to the info on MF towels. This is a very good article and should answer most of your questions. I have just recently converted to quality MF towels and there is no comparison. The MF towels are better in every way. Cotton towels do scratch, which is very noticable on black paint. MF towels also collect way more residue from polish and wax than a cotton towel with very little effort.

BookemDano
11-13-2004, 11:31 PM
Virtually every detailing enthusiast uses MF towels. I have about 3 dozen that I use for multiple purposes. Cheapies from Costco for wheels and door jambs, good quality ones for general detailing and removing polish, and extra nice ones for buffing out LSP.

I wouldn`t touch my Audi or my wife`s Subie with anything else.

Regards,

Dan.

a.k.a. Patrick
11-14-2004, 12:58 AM