PDA

View Full Version : paint looks hazy on hood and trunk

93mr2red
11-13-2004, 06:29 PM
I have a 93 red mr2. It has the original paint. The car is in excellent condition except the paint has a hazy look on the hood and trunk. Any suggestions for what to do? What products to use? Should I apply these products by hand or use a rotary polisher? I do not want swirl marks or webs. Please help!

Rob Tomlin
11-13-2004, 06:32 PM
Sounds like you have some oxidation.

I would use a polish like Poorboys SSR2.5 with a polishing pad (if that doesn`t work, move up to a cutting pad) on a Random Orbit buffer like the Porter Cable unit, then follow up with Klasse All in One to clean up the paint.

Finish with a good sealant and/or wax.

93mr2red
11-13-2004, 06:58 PM
Thanks. I have never used a buffer before. Is there anything I should be careful of? Do I move it vertically on the hood and then horizontally?

jfelbab
11-13-2004, 07:26 PM
I`ve had very good results on my red 91 MR2 using Meguiar`s Medallion Paint Cleaner (MPPC) to remove the oxidation. It is primarily a chemical cleaner and doesn`t remove much of the single stage paint. I follow this up with Meguiar`s Show Car Glaze (#7) and then with two coats of NXT Tech Wax.

Here is what it will look like.

http://homepage.mac.com/jfelbab/.Pictures/Photo%20Album%20Pictures/2004-10-23%2010.39.29%20-0700/Image-CC51C434251911D9.jpg

More pics of my MR2 here. (http://homepage.mac.com/jfelbab/PhotoAlbum7.html)

Rob Tomlin
11-13-2004, 08:50 PM
Originally posted by 93mr2red

Thanks. I have never used a buffer before. Is there anything I should be careful of? Do I move it vertically on the hood and then horizontally?

Do a search on the subject of the Porter Cable polisher. Autopia has a great tutorial on it.

You really would have to try hard to make a mistake with this polisher.

Rob Tomlin
11-13-2004, 08:51 PM
Here`s the Autopia link regarding using the PC polisher:

http://autopia.org/kb/index.php?page=index_v2&id=38&c=root