PDA

View Full Version : Polish which nourish the paint

yoshishinya
10-30-2004, 07:14 AM
I have been practicing autopian on my cars for more than 2 years since I bought a 2002 Z24; but, I am still at loss which "polish" does "nourish" the paint (if that is how to put it in a word). The packaing for Meg`s polish/glaze says it "nourishes" the paint with oil which is part of the ingridient. Is it necessary to have "oil-rich" polish to nourish the paint (to prevent the paint from drying up over the course of months or years)? Or, can I just stick with AIO/SG combo (mostly SG since my car is a garage queen) or P21S paint cleaner/P21S wax (or other sealant/carnauba wax) combo? I feel AIO or P21S is not oily as Meg`s and I am curious to know if they help "nourish" the paint even though they are not oily. Is oiliness necessary for the polish/glaze?

Setec Astronomy
10-30-2004, 08:41 AM
Ah...the "trade secret" Meguiar`s polishing oils...I think most people on here consider them to be fillers, and would applaud your use of AIO/SG only, perhaps with a P21S topper...oh, and welcome to Autopia!! If you want info and opinions, you have come to the right place.

imported_mirrorfinishman
10-30-2004, 09:01 AM
Originally posted by yoshishinya

Is it necessary to have "oil-rich" polish to nourish the paint (to prevent the paint from drying up over the course of months or years)?

No. I do not think you need to have an `oil rich` polish to keep your paint from drying up over the course of years. It sounds like the process and products you are using will do just fine.

Accumulator
10-30-2004, 01:06 PM
Yeah, don`t worry about nourishing the paint. That *is* a valid concern with older-tech paints but not with modern b/c. Today`s b/c paints really just need protection and very infrequent de-oxidizing.

Now if you have some old single-stage on something, that`s a different matter...

the other pc
10-30-2004, 01:19 PM