PDA

View Full Version : do you still detail in the cold?

III
10-27-2004, 07:34 PM
This probably is a no brainer as all of us on this site are considered not normal to our neighbors. However, when is it too cold for you to polish/wax? I won`t do a full detail on my vehicles during the winter, but I will do certain panels or sections that I feel need some attention. People rubbing up against the paint which has salt on it causes little scratches. If it`s 35 degrees or more I`ll polish or re-wax those nasty areas. However, I bought one of those kerosene torpedo heaters last year. I got my garage up to 55 degrees when it was 25 degrees out. All I can say is SWEET!!!!!!!!!

LDPaul
10-27-2004, 07:42 PM
Thank God I live in TEXAS!!! It gets a little cold, but I have done full details in 40 degree weather. Just have to watch using water on carpets - takes too long to dry!

TW85 HHI
10-27-2004, 07:56 PM
It rarely gets below 40º during the day in the dead of winter here, so yes, you will find me detailing the cars. Can`t say I am overly excited while washing but once I can pull into the relatively warm garage, it isn`t bad.

White95Max
10-27-2004, 09:20 PM
Last winter, I washed my car about every two days throughout the whole winter. Yes, I washed it at home, by myself, with water, in the non-heated garage.

How?

I have a 1 car garage, so the car takes up about 1/2 of the garage. It`s nice to have that small garage when you try to warm the garage. Here`s what I did.

I would drive the car around for 15-20 minutes before washing it. Crank the heat up for the first 75% of the driving to get the cabin really hot, then turn the heat off for the last couple minutes to let the engine bay get hot again. Then I drive in the garage, close the door, and open all doors and the hood. This lets most of the heat out into the garage so it warms it up.