PDA

View Full Version : How much does business drop off in the Winter?

joburnet
10-18-2004, 11:30 AM
I know that business is supposed to drop off during the winter and business for me has been slower lately but since this is my first year in business I thought that I would ask. Are you able to keep busy during the winter?

For mobile detailers, how do you detail in the winter? Work in people`s garages or just dress warm? Thanks.

P.A.D
10-18-2004, 04:53 PM
If you had your own garage you should be able to keep busy. I do not detail in the winter because I do it outside...but I still get alot of calls from my customers wanting their cars done. I hate to turn it away but I just do this on the side now so it would not be worth it to me to rent a garage.....

imported_mirrorfinishman
10-18-2004, 06:59 PM
Actually, I detail straight thru the winter. Of course, here in New Jersey when it gets down below freezing I`m not able or willing to get out there and work. However, as long as it`s above 35 degrees I`ll be there. I usually schedule start times a little later in the day. And I reverse my order of detailing to doing the interior first, then washing the vehicle, followed by polishing and waxing.

Working during the winter months is really not all that difficult, especially when it`s a bright sunny day. Hey, sometimes a sunny day at 35 degrees in January can feel a heck of a lot warmer when compared to a cloudy blustery 55 degree day in April. The key to working outside during the cold weather is to dress accordingly. Lots of layers and gloves, of course.