PDA

View Full Version : How do I start?

LittleSmoothJr
09-14-2004, 12:20 PM
Hey guys, I`m new here btu have been reading for quite a while. I am currently an Assistant Manager at Finish Line making only 10 dollars an hour and working 40 hours a week. Myself and two friends are deeply considering starting our own detailing business. All of us have experience detailing our own cars (We each do each others). I have a few questions:

1.) What is the basics of what I need to start my own business?

2.) What is a good starting amount of cash?

3.) How do I get people to come?

4.) What is needed to keep the business going?

5.) Should I continue to work full time at Finish Line, and do this part time?

Any other informatoin that you fine gentleman, and ladies have for three 18 year olds wanting to venture out on their own?

Thanks,

Tom.

Labster
09-14-2004, 02:04 PM
I`m in a similar position and have just started to gain a customer base. The thought of beginning a business with friends can sometimes be a bad idea. Some companies go under because the owners are friends and they can`t agree on things which leads to the companies demise.

Are you going to be in a fixed location or doing it mobile? This is an important question due to the fact that your fixed costs will jump quite a bit if you`re needing to rent or lease a location.

Look for a small business seminar to attend. Some of them are free, others charge a fee but the information that you gain is priceless. You can take the route I went and sit down and talk with successful businessmen that have built their companies from the ground up.

The only cars that you have experience on are your own cars? Go to the local detailing shop and talk to the manager or owner and see if they would be willing to teach you some things. I learned so much in my year working at a shop and it would have taken me God knows how long to learn it on my own.