PDA

View Full Version : newbie here: wanted to start detailing my car

wdwxdq
09-09-2004, 05:01 PM
hello there, i wanted to detail my car for i have swirls marks, bird dropping stains, hard water stains etc. i have bought these stuff for detailing: PC7424, sanus pads(orange,green, blue, black and mf bonnets), meguair`s #9 (dual action polish/cleaner), meguiar`s # 2 for dark cars, meguiar`s hand glaze, klasse AIO and the other klasse, and zaino products. this is what i planned on doing it.

1. wash the car

2. clay the car

3. use orange with meg#9

4.use green with meg#2

5. use blue with meg hand glaze

6. apply AIO with applicator

7. apply the other klasse product

8. buff with bonnet

9. apply zaino car polish

pls. let me know if i`m doing it right before i start for i don`t want to ruin my car paint, my car`s only 3 years old.

and if there is any suggestion, i would greatly appreciate it. TIA

Accumulator
09-09-2004, 05:37 PM
rlman41299 - Welcome to Autopia.

Steps 3 & 4- I`m a bit confused by your descriptions of some of your products: Meg`s #9 is not DACP, DACP is #83. #9 is a very mild swirl-remover. Meg`s #2 is a pretty heavy duty polish for rotary use only, and it`s not for light or dark cars specifically, so I sorta doubt that you`re really talking about Meg`s #2. You might check the bottles and see what you`re really dealing with.

Step 5- I wouldn`t use Meg`s Hand Glaze (#81) before AIO as the AIO will just clean it all off.

Steps 6 & 7- You apply AIO, then remove it, then apply the SG and then remove *that*.

Step 9- I dunno about using Zaino on top of the Klasse twins...I`d pick one or the other myself. Not sure if Zaino will even bond to SG.

Better sort out what products you`re really dealing with and their compatibility before you start such a big job.

wdwxdq
09-09-2004, 05:46 PM
thank you for the reply. you were right. i have meg`s #83 (dacp), meg`s #7 and #9. i also have the 3M swirl mark remover for dark colored cars.