PDA

View Full Version : new to the forum and have a ??

mike01svt
09-05-2004, 12:51 PM
Hello, I have a 2001 Mustang Cobra in True Blue.. it is a Dark Blue and I have noticed that I am starting to get swirl marks all over the place, along with very fine scratches. I am fairly new to this detailing and would like to know what to use to get the swirls out. The paint is otherwise in showroom condition... I have the Zaino Products, but thats about it. I also have some 3m Rubbing compound that i used once to get some minor scratches out. I was thinking about getting a porter cable 7424 that i would test out on my jeep and learn how to use it before starting on the car. Can someone point me in the right direction. Thanks

ZaneO
09-05-2004, 01:01 PM
Welcome to Autopia.

I would start by clicking on the "learn!" icon at the top of the page and by doing some searches on the topics you are interested in.

Here are a couple of articles to get you started:

http://www.bettercarcare.com/articles.php?articleId=28

http://www.bettercarcare.com/articles.php?articleId=47

mike01svt
09-05-2004, 01:03 PM
Thanks for the direction. I appreciate your help :D

imported_mirrorfinishman
09-08-2004, 10:38 AM
Hey Mike,

Since it sounds like you are currently doing all of the polishing and waxing by hand, I thought I would add a few additional helpful comments.

The most important thing to remember when polishing and waxing by hand is that all cloths must be clean and remain clean at all times. With regard to an applicator cloth, you could use a small folded light weight, white terry cloth towel to apply the polish and wax, instead of the foam type applicator.