PDA

View Full Version : NewBie ?`s on initial cleaning

01986S
08-26-2004, 07:11 AM
New to the board and have a couple ?`s.

I have an 89 Volvo with medium oxidation that I want to detail. I just ordered the PC 724 and Sonus pad kit. Was thinking of using the Menzerna Intensive polish then ther Final polish to get my feet WET with this new equipment before attemping any work on my Porsche.

Is masking a must when using the PC and Menzerna polish ???

After Polish I will apply a coat of 1 grand blitz

Any tips/comments I should be aware of starting out with the PC ??

Thanks ...

togwt
08-26-2004, 08:03 AM
~ One man’s opinion / observations ~

Q: Is masking a must when using the PC and Menzerna polish ???

A: The use of masking tape is never a ‘must’ but it will save time on clean-up after you’ve finished the detail (most products will splatter no matter how good you are with a machine)

Q: After Polish I will apply a coat of 1 grand blitz

A: I have no experience with this product, I’m sure someone may give you some pointers

Q: Any tips/comments I should be aware of starting out with the PC ??

A: How-To Use The Porter Cable 7424 6" Orbital Polisher by DavidB may be as good a place to start as any

~Hope this helps~

Knowledge unshared is experience wasted

justadumbarchitect / so I question everything/ Jon

01986S
08-26-2004, 08:09 AM
??

Option 13
08-26-2004, 08:31 AM
Welcome to the best detailing site on the internet :xyxthumbs

Heres the article you were looking for:

http://www.bettercarcare.com/articles.php?articleId=47

01986S
08-26-2004, 08:58 AM
:)

adjulian
08-26-2004, 09:18 AM
Glad to see anotoher Michigander in Autopia. Welcome!

I have used the Menzerna twins on my 03 Porsche 996 and they work great. I see that you are going to use Blitz after the Menzerna. Have you thought about applying a sealant, i.e. Klasse Sealant Glaze (SG) before applying the wax? Klasse would be great especially for these Michigan winters.