PDA

View Full Version : neglected Cobra,where to start

Pages : [1] 2

NVcobra
08-25-2004, 07:36 PM
:nixweiss Hello,im new here so hope im not rehashing old ground. I just got a 97 Mustang Cobra with 20k miles,black on black,beautifull car but it has sat outside a couple of years driven very little....it has all the signs of neglect..water stains running down,light swirl all over,gritty hazy film,particles,bug an bird spots etc,..its really a shame. He said he washed and polished it about 6 months ago but didnt get to wax it... so its sat without wax till now. Im new to detailing..where in the world do i begin,i just got mothers clay kit and want to be sure i dont make the situation worse through ingorance, thanks for any help.

saling4
08-25-2004, 07:43 PM
I am new to this as well, but I know you have to use a good car wash on it (not dish soap) m Then clay it. Make sure you use something like QD to insure the clay slides smoothly. Then a cleaner and polish. I use Meguirs 3 step process for now, but intend to get more adventuress(?) as I continue reading in here.

Are you in NV? I am in Henderson, NV

jaybs02
08-25-2004, 07:57 PM
Cobra,

Pictures help in a situation like this.

Washing and claying is a start, but how much paint correction needs to be done?

Are you doing this by hand or machine?

"J"

P.S. :welcome

NVcobra
08-25-2004, 08:48 PM
thx so far...i dont think its real serious yet as far as paint correction goes, an yes im doing it by hand. Sailing4, no im in Ohio

giorgio
08-25-2004, 09:06 PM
Hi

I`m also starting on this(I`m in Mexico, border with Texas)

I have a Black 2001 F150 truck, got it brand new back then.

I just wax it once in a while but I don`t like anymore how it looks, It`s been outside all the time.

So far I got these and I just can`t wait to start.

http://www.autopia.org/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=43051

Salutes

Giorgio

imported_series1
08-25-2004, 09:40 PM