PDA

View Full Version : questions on 69 + 73 Jags

White95Max
08-16-2004, 01:55 PM
My neighbor`s boss was interested in having me detail his `69 Jag and `73 Jag. I didn`t say whether I would or not since I don`t know if they have a clearcoat or not, and I have never worked on a non-clearcoated vehicle before.

Do these two cars have a clearcoated finish?

What do you do different with a non-clearcoated finish?

What are some good products for non-clearcoated finishes?

Can I use any of these products for the Jags?:

NXT?

#7?

EX-P?

Paste Glaz?

I just detail cars for friends and relatives, so I`m not all that experienced and a don`t have a big selection of products. If the Jags don`t have a clearcoat, I don`t know that I would want to detail them...I don`t think my first non-clearcoat experience should be on a collectable Jaguar.

MongooseGA
08-16-2004, 03:42 PM
dont quote me, but i think working with a CC is the same as working w/o one. the only thing you need to watch out for is how often you polish, because there`s no protective layer there.

i think this is the case. i may be wrong though.

Accumulator
08-16-2004, 05:15 PM
White95Max- Cool project, I like working on old Jags.

If the Jags have original paint, it`s *not* clearcoated, it`s old-school lacquer. But find out, as many older Jags have been repainted with basecoat/clear or with different, non-oe single stage. You can test with a mildly abrasive polish- paint-color transfer onto your pad indicates single stage. But some non-original ss won`t give you immediate color transfer unless it`s oxidized a little. A repaint with b/c won`t give you *any* color transfer.

Assuming it`s original single stage and in generally good condition: