PDA

View Full Version : Test out PC on old cars

RedVolvo
08-04-2004, 10:35 AM
Okay, after some more reasearch I decide d that I`m going to purchase the 7336SP from a local lowes and order the pad accessory kit from properautocare.com.

Being a beginner I thought it would be a good idea to test out the PC on my grandparents` 1986 black lincoln and 1993-95 white Cadilcac and make a few bucks ;-) I would like to go with 83 , 9, 81, 20, 26 on both cars. However I have read that beginners should not try and use compounds with the PC. Is the DACP to abrasive to be used by a beginnner like myself??

If so, then would UP by hand, PP by PC, 81, and 20 be a good combination?

Also considering the Menzerna twins followed by the Klasse twins; is that a good combination for a novice?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

sean

Aurora
08-04-2004, 11:23 AM
What the....? You got all these products on hand at your age? that is just insane! Well.. I`ve been able to tackle what I`ve need done up to now with Speed Glaze, MP, PP, and VM. But many here use DACP with the PC. I wouldn`t worry about it being too aggressive, but I would try something milder first. You`ll get the hang of the PC in no time. Just do sloooow passes.

Aurora
08-04-2004, 11:26 AM
Hey you never stated your age:o . Too much sleep for me last night I guess. That`s still quite an assortment of products there.

l33
08-04-2004, 11:29 AM
The PC is an excellent machine because it is a safe machine. It`s difficult to really do any damage using the PC since it doesn`t generate enough heat. A PC is used to spread product out very evenly and to fix MINOR paint imperfections. I wouldn`t be too concerned with damaging your paint with the PC. As for compounding, usually i use a rotarty, but you should be ok with the PC.

Personally i only use menzerna`s products, they may not be as user friendly.

PFDarkside
08-04-2004, 12:10 PM