PDA

View Full Version : Titanium Grey RX-8 Needs Some Detailing Insight!

djmano
07-19-2004, 07:11 PM
hi this is my first post on autopia. i am no stranger to internet forums but am a newbie here @ autopia. my name is daniel and i am a proud owner of a 2004 titanium grey rx-8. im glad i discovered autopia. this is a very very resourceful board and i don`t think i could ever extract all the information this forum has to offer. i know you guys must get the same questions over and over so bear with me. i have just stepped foot into the world of detailing and have millions of questions and desires in my head. i used to care less about car care but now i understand the importance of having a well mainted car not only in terms of the moving parts that make up the car but the part we all love.....the beauty of the exterior and the many ways to make a shine that will bring a smile to not only our faces but those who are lucky enough to see the awesome shine we worked so hard for! okay enough of the sweetalk, time to cut to the chase.

i would love to buy all the detailing products i see online but would probably just be wasting money. i am on a budget so price is a concern but i love my baby and really want to keep her bright and shiny. this is my wish-list of products so far, please if you have any products you would recommend to add to my list feel free to comment.

WASH: NXT Car Wash

WASH MITT: Generic Sheepskin Mitt

DRYING: Terry Cotton Towels for now.....from my findings I believe the way to go is a WW Microfiber Drying Towel? Will drying with regular cotton towels harm my paint? Any recommendations on drying towels would be greatly appreciated

CLAY: Any recommendations on clay? Also, is it required to use Dawn and strip down my current coat of wax before clay baring the paint or can clay be used at any time?

PAINT PREP: This is the area i am most unclear on. What would be a simple and affordable way to prep the paint? I have a titanium grey color car.