PDA

View Full Version : meguiars #83, and then what??

RonTL
07-18-2004, 01:48 AM
Im a newbie with this stuff and need some help. My car has some minor scratches and swirl marks. Im going to use a clay system and then use the meguiars #83. What do i use after that?

and i have a craftsman polisher/buffer. Is that good enough to use with the polishes?

I have what looks like some white paint sprinkles on my car (my cars red). The previous owner did it somehow. How would i remove that?

One of my friends car paint is faded looking ( i guess that`s called oxidation). Would meguiars #83 fix that or not? if not, what should i use?

SpoiledMan
07-18-2004, 02:00 AM
Pictures will help lots here. I usually follow #83 with 80 but it depends on how hard/soft the paint is. You may be able to get away with just using #80 and then whatever wax.

As for your friend, you might want to try ColorX or Medallion Premium Paint Cleaner(MPPC) and then polish as needed and wax. #83 might work on your friends car also so you can give that a try if you don`t already have the other products.

General Lee
07-18-2004, 02:01 AM
Is your polisher/buffer an orbital? If so it will not break down #83 like it needs to be to be most effective.

Claying may remove the sprinkles you describe so see if that works.

Yes, #83 will remove oxidation but not sure how well it will w/ an orbital(if that is what you have). You can try scratchX by meguiars, apply it by hand. That may help depending how bad the oxidation is.

a.k.a. Patrick
07-18-2004, 02:04 AM
I like to "clean up" after 83. I usually go with VM or another type of finer polish, 80 would be a good choice. Ut then again if the scratches are light, you may want to just go with 80 ! 83 can be difficult to use if the machine you have doesnt have the balls to break it down properly......Shoot, its hard enough to use anyway !

SpoiledMan
07-18-2004, 02:10 AM
Originally posted by a.k.a. Patrick