PDA

View Full Version : Newbie PC advice

x350Zx
06-25-2004, 01:30 AM
Okay so I bought a PC7336 the other day and today I attempted to use it. After washing my car with Zaino Carwash, claying it thoroughly, I started to apply nxt in nice thin layers by hand using a pad. Then I waited about 20 minutes and attempted to buff it off with the PC at speed 3 using the polishing pad supplied with the pc. The nxt came off- but it somewhat smeared everytime I ran the pc over it. It smeared into circular streaks and what not. Now as a newbie I have a few questions:

1. Does the pad supplied with the pc suck? Cuz it didn`t seem to take off the nxt that well.

2. When using the pc, in what directions does one move the machine? I tend to utilize circular motions when using buffers, but today this seemed to make my problems worse.

3. Are there any pads that you would reccommend me getting? I have a black car thus the swirls problem, although hardly visible usually. Also are there certain pads used for application of the wax/polish then certain pads for buffing the product off?

Thanks in advance for your help.

imported_YouGottaBeLeaf
06-25-2004, 01:47 AM
If you click the "learn!" icon at the top of the page there are a bunch of tutorials. One of them leads to this PC tutorial: http://www.bettercarcare.com/articles.php?articleId=47

imported_YouGottaBeLeaf
06-25-2004, 01:49 AM
Here`s a thread on using a PC with NXT http://www.autopia.org/forums/showthread.php?threadid=40022

dmatre
06-25-2004, 05:08 AM
The problem may be the use of the PC.

PCs are normally used to apply the polish/sealant/wax, which is then removed by hand.

The foam pads used with the PC will not `pick up` the residue left after application, thus they simply smear it around.

There are some companies out there that supply a microfiber bonnet for removal of the polish/sealant/wax, but I haven`t given it a try yet.