PDA

View Full Version : Cyclo and 3M

PiPpY
06-24-2004, 04:42 PM
Do any of you fellow Cyclo owners use any of the 3M products?

I used to do everything by hand or with a rotary, so I am new to the cyclo.

I am trying to figure out what to use on

1) Clear coat car (98 Camaro)

2) 1977 Mercedes

(edit) Also the paint on the Mercedes is really badly swirled but the Camaro has the normal scratches from washing.

I am pretty sure the Mercedes is a single stage paint.

Any help or thoughts are appreciated :D

Accumulator
06-24-2004, 05:00 PM
If the Benz is still wearing factory paint, then yeah, it`s SS (probably is if it had an old repaint, too). They didn`t start using b/c until the `80s, and even then, for the first few years they only used it with metallic paints. Go *very* easy on it, no telling just how thin it might be. You don`t want to cut through....

I`ve used 3M stuff with the Cyclo. I prefer to work with the PI-III line, and their RC (05933) and MG (05937) work fine with the cutting (yellow) and polishing (green) pads. I`m experimenting with the Cyclo and the PI-III Extra Cut RC, but it`s pretty aggressive and I`m not ready to recommend that combo yet. The PI-II RC (39002) works OK too, but it seems to dust a lot more than the PI-III (and the dust is *not* good to breath).

PiPpY
06-24-2004, 05:07 PM
Thanks Accumulator!

THe Mercedes is the factory paint.

The car has lived in a garage near Lubbock, TX its whole life, so the paint is actually in great condition (except for driving it through car washes in the 80s)

I am trying to order some new 3M stuff as mine is all old (1995 old).

3Ms naming system isnt the most helpful, but I am looking at their site right now.

What do use with the white pads?

Thanks! :D

Nick Chronis
06-24-2004, 07:02 PM
I absolutely LOVE PI-III MG with the cyclo and white pads. You can work it in just to when it about disappears.

Accumulator
06-24-2004, 08:18 PM