PDA

View Full Version : suggestions for rejuvenating paint on classic car

mule714
06-21-2004, 03:58 PM
Detailing newbie here! I`ve got a 66 tbrid convert. sitting in my garage that is long overdue for a rejuvenation. I don`t believe it`s the original paint, but it`s definitely not clear coat. Lots of oxidations, plenty of swirls.

I`m about to get a PC 7424. Someone suggested using Menzerna Power Gloss but I`ve heard it doesn`t work well with the PC 7424. Is this true? What`s a good suggestion of compounds/polishes and pads for the PC to get this baby looking good again?

Accumulator
06-21-2004, 05:55 PM
mule714- Welcome to Autopia. Cool car! This is a project you oughta take slow and easy.

IMO, the first step will be to really clean the car, including a good claying. Then inspect it and see what you`re really working with.

Once you`ve cleaned and clayed it, a trick Mike Phillips taught me (that worked well on neglected ss paint) is to apply a pretty heavy dose of Meg`s #7 and let it set overnight. The oils rejuvenate ss paint to some extent and this leads to less aggressive measures being required.

Be careful using aggressive polishes with the PC before you`re familiar with it. Especially in this case, where you don`t necessarily know what you`re dealing with (thickness of paint, etc.). Better to try a few things that turn out to be too mild than to try one thing that`s too aggressive.

Spilchy
06-21-2004, 06:13 PM
Cool car!

The #7 trick sounds interesting but I think an easier routine would be to clay car and use AIO as a cleaner / oxidation remover.

I can vouch for its oxidation removal capabilities. I used it on a neglected trailer.

I would then judge the severity of the swirls and use the appropriate polish / pad combo. Don`t be afraid of the PC. You have to be a real weenie to do damage with it. Follow Accumulator`s advice.

I would THEN use the #7. It will help to fill any left over swirls that you may be unable to remove.