PDA

View Full Version : Quick, dumb question about claying.

motobuild
06-19-2004, 02:46 PM
Since you need to have a "lube" while using clay, is it fine to NOT dry the car after washing and prior to claying?!?!

Wash, Rinse very well, and then start claying using a QD when needed.

Yes? No? I understand about the water spot thing but I`ll be washing and drying the car after claying.

As you can see, I hate drying. Takes forever. ;)

imported_eggroll
06-19-2004, 02:56 PM
Yes, that`s how Ido it. Except I use car wash solution as lube.

04BlackAV
06-19-2004, 02:56 PM
No need to dry your car before you clay and all the more beter if your car is still wet.I just use a mix of soap and water to lube with.

motobuild
06-19-2004, 02:57 PM
SWEET....that`s what I figured, but being a newb I wanted to make sure.

Thanks!

Accumulator
06-20-2004, 11:10 AM
Tusin- Try to keep the vehicle wet with an occasional hose-down, that will help avoid the spotting.

chris0626
06-22-2004, 12:30 AM
Maybe "it depends" is the answer. It takes me an hour or two to clay. So there`s no way I`d leave the car wet for that long. I dry the car, then clay the car in 2-foot sections (using QD before and after claying each section). Then I can just move on to my wax/sealant. But it really does depend on your technique.

I`m puzzled by your comment that it takes you so long to dry. How come? I`m miserably, notoriously slow at most aspects of detailing. But drying is very fast for me. How come it takes you this long? (Mind you, I`m not bashing -- just being curious. Or perhaps I`m just hoping to find somebody who`s even slower than I at some part of this enterprise. :D )

Slick
06-22-2004, 01:08 AM
I prefer to clay while I wash the car while using the car wash solution as a lubricant. Cuts down on time!

raymond_ho2002
06-22-2004, 04:55 AM