PDA

View Full Version : Cheap buffer -- Let me have it!

don_rapheal
06-16-2004, 11:40 PM
I am totally new to this thing called buffing/polishing. I have never even used one these tools on a car in my life. Would it be all wrong if I bought a cheap one a learned how to properly use one and in due time step up to a PC?

Here it is (http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Displayitem.taf?itemnumber=46507)

That is the one I am thinking about getting. I have read that its pretty good, but of course not as good as the topdogs.

Let me know what you think. I am kinda strapped for funds right now, since I have so many other things that I`d like to buy for my car.

Thanks,

Jerry:xyxthumbs

Robb
06-17-2004, 12:01 AM
The link you have is a link to a Rotary buffer, you do not want one of these if you havent used one before. The main polisher used by people on autopia is the PC. It is a random orbit polisher, it is near imossiple to damage the finish with a PC. On the other hand, a rotary buffer is very easy to damage the paint and should only be used after LOTS of practice. If you look on ebay you may be able to find a Porter Cable at a reasonable price.

imported_perry
06-17-2004, 12:03 AM
Heh, that would actually be a step up from a PC as far as skill required to use it. That`s a rotary buffer.. The PC is a random orbital buffer.

There are cheaper random orbital buffers than the PC.. I have a 7" Craftsman (got it several years ago) and I don`t much care for it now that I have learned about the goodness that is a PC. Smaller motor that bogs down as soon as it even gets near paint. No nifty backing plate system that allows use of a variety of foam pads.

I`m now saving up for a PC...

don_rapheal
06-17-2004, 12:59 AM