PDA

View Full Version : ready to take the PC plunge but....

Pages : [1] 2

imported_jamesp
06-03-2004, 03:38 PM
my head is still spinning from all the threads on this subject. first, here is what i have concluded: i will purchase a PC since i am a rookie at detailing. either a 7424 or 7336. the concensus here seems to like the 5" backing plate, 6" counterweight and 6.5" pads. however, some of you are dissatisfied with the backing plates that come with the PC form places like coastaltools.com. if that is the case, should i just go to Lowes and get the 7336 for $109 and order a backing plate and counterweight from an online vendor? if so, which one? several vendors offer different car care packages, but i would like to get the best quality available. i have two cars one black (bmw) the other silver (mb). both have lots of swirls and scratches. is the red Meguires pad the most aggressive foam pad available? sorry for the long post, but i just need someone to point me in the right direction. thanks

ps. i`ll bug you all about which polishes and waxes later!

jimc
06-03-2004, 03:51 PM
I order my PC (7424) from costal tool. They bundled the 6" counterweight and backing plate with the 7424 at no charge. My PC is relatively new, so I can`t comment on the backing plate longevity.

In regards to pads, use the least aggressive that will get the job done. You can always go to a more aggressive pad if it doesn`t work. My paint is in pretty good shape so I use a 7.5" white pad for polishing

tguil
06-03-2004, 05:27 PM
If you have lot`s of scratches save yourself a bunch of time, go with a Meguiar`s burgandy pad and Meguiar`s DACP. Set the pc at 5 and hang on.

Although I like Meguiar`s pads, especially the burgandy one for tough stuff, I order most of my pc accessories from Classic Motoring Accessories. They have some very good pc kits available. They have quite a variety of pads. I also bought my pc from them.