PDA

View Full Version : New Car Paint

BikeFreak
05-30-2004, 12:42 PM
Newbie here. I just purchase my first *new car* last weekend. A 2004 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 ext cab V6 TRD with the Lunar Mist Paint (silver).

My question is; Do I have to let the paint cure anymore before I apply my first coat of wax. I am not sure if this is an urban myth or not. I would really like to get started on it. Like the rest of you I enjoy spending the extra time on my vehicles to keep them looking the best.

I have been reading all the tutorials. It looks like I can skip the clay bar for now, since the paint is new. I am going to use Meg`s #16 pure carnuaba wax. I like to wax atleast every couple months from spring to fall.

From my readings, this is what it sounds like I need:

100% sheepskin wash mit

Meg`s gold class wash

microfiber drying towel

fine foam pads

Meg`s #16 pure carnuaba wax

Anything else???

Thanks in advance for any help,

BikeFreak

LouisanaJeeper
05-30-2004, 12:54 PM
the paint is already fully cured by the time it reaches the dealership

Accumulator
05-30-2004, 02:22 PM
BikeFreak- Welcome to Autopia! As long as your new paint doesn`t have any marring (swirls, scratches, etc.), then the stuff you listed is a good start, but get some plush MF towels to buff off the #16.

And yeah, it`s safe to wax right away.

I really hope I can convince you to use some clay on it to remove any "rail dust". Seriously, *NOW* is the time to do it. Those ferrous deposits turn into nasty "rust blooms" if you don`t get it out of the paint (awful looking on silver, and they keep reappearing). I myself use stuff like AutoInt`s ABC (do a search on it), but clay is a lot better than nothing. I`ve probably had well over a dozen new, silver cars, and I`ve learned the hard way that this is sorta important.

BikeFreak
05-30-2004, 06:00 PM