PDA

View Full Version : Help on Dewalt 443

lance
05-12-2004, 10:49 PM
I tried using my new Meguirs polishing pad last weekend to try and remove the microscratches and minor swirls of my 1 1/2 yr old Mitsubishi Lancer. I used a brand new Dewalt 443. I have never used a PC or Dewalt 443 before though I have in my possession as well a RandomOrbit buffer (B&D) which isn`t variable speed. I noticed that the B&D buffer was spinning (now I can`t recall if it`s clockwise or counter-clockwise. that`s how newbie i am :o ) and doing the random orbit motion regardless if you`re just holding it or it`s being worked on on top of the car.

I noticed that with the 443, before the pad touches the surface, the pad is spinning and jiggling at the same time. But once the pad is on the actual surface, it looks as if it`s just jiggling. It`s no longer spinning. Unintentionally, I have one spot of the plate with dried polish. I can tell that the plate doesn`t seem to be spinning because that part of the plate with dried polish doesn`t seem to be moving. It`s just jiggling and no clockwise/counter-clockwise movement of the plate seemed to be happening. Is that really how it should work? Or is it just spinning too fast that I can no longer tell the difference if it`s still spinning or not? But I`m thinking that if it`s spinning too fast, I should see the dried polish as if it`s all over the plate because of the speed.

I used DACP with the 443. I spent around 5-8 minutes on a 2x2 area of the car but never on any spot that I reached the point wherein DACP turns into something like "dust." It`s actually still there totally whenever I wipe it out with microfiber. I`m not sure if it`s my 443 or my technique that failed me. I still see lots of microscratches. The swirls are reduced but still there. Under a fluorescent light and on a certain angle, I can also see water spots on the hood.

BTW, I followed up DACP with IHG and finished with NXT.

Any help would be appreciated....Thanks...