PDA

View Full Version : Detailing process and product recommendation - Please Help!

ZCarGuy
04-26-2004, 02:19 PM
While I am not new to detailing, I am new to some of the products and the process that I am thinking of doing to detail my 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited. I have thought about this for a little while, but wanted to hear from all of you about the best way to achieve the shine, depth, and reflection I am looking for. Here goes:

Wash- NXT or other wash

Clay- Meguiars Clay

Compound-Depending on how bad some of the swirls are, maybe a fine cut cleaner (Any recommendations would be great)

Megs DACP

Polish or Glaze

Wax

I want to polish the paint and get most of the imperfectiosn out so I don`t know if I should use a compund then a polish or DACP. What products would you recommend for each step (I want a great shine but don`t have huge amounts of money to spend on products, around $200)

I am going to buy a PC with a pad set. What pads would be recommended for each step such as the cleaning, polishing, and waxing steps.

Thanks alot and here are somepics of my Jeep I want to detail:

(There are alot of paint chips on one side but I may get those painted, bear in mind the Jeep doe shave 157,000 miles on it)

ZCarGuy
04-26-2004, 02:23 PM
Here is a link for more pictures:

http://web.bentley.edu/students/e/emrich_ryan/jeep.html

andriver
04-26-2004, 02:36 PM
I prefer Einszett products. Check out this package http://www.detailersparadise.com/_System/_AdvancedStore/ProductDetail.asp

scottabir
04-26-2004, 02:45 PM