PDA

View Full Version : Ready to Buy PC but confused

tkajeff
04-24-2004, 03:46 PM
I am ready to order my first PC. I have been reading a lot of infomation from both this site and others. There seems to be quite a bit of disparity when it comes to backing plates and model numbers. For example, the kit autopia.orghttp://autopia-carcare.com/pc-7424-kit.html sells comes with a 5" counterweight, but I read an article on The Classic Motoring Accessories message board by Steve @gurureports, that said since most buffing pads are 6" in diameter then a PC should have a 6" counterweight. Since I have never used a PC before have no idea which direction to go in. I found this kit from

http://www.topoftheline.com/porcabpolpac.html, would this be a good start-up kit to purchase? Any help would be appreciated.

Simplistic
04-24-2004, 03:50 PM
tkajeff, i bought the PC model 7336 and it comes with the 6" counterweight. i`d say it`s definitely a must. ther`es a kit availalbe from autopia that comes with the 6" weight.

i have 3 cutting pads (yellow) and 3 polishing pads (white)

tkajeff
04-24-2004, 10:43 PM
Simplistic

Where did you buy your PC from if you do not mind me asking?

Thank you for the info.

SpoiledMan
04-24-2004, 10:46 PM
If you don`t mind, I got my PC kit from www.detailersparadise.com. It came with the backing plate, 3 pads, 1Z polishes and the case to keep it all in. The 1Z polishes also come with the little 2oz. bottles that you can throw in the case with the PC for a decent little portable detail kit.

shaf
04-26-2004, 02:14 AM
I would definitely buy a 7336 model to get the 6" counterweight, and then pair that up with a 5" backing plate personally. That combo should give you the fewest vibes.

Simplistic
04-26-2004, 11:05 AM
i got my model from www.carcaresmart.com, it`s a CANADIAN only website