PDA

View Full Version : FIRST DETAIL, Suggestions???

imported_FireWalker
04-24-2004, 12:45 AM
`02 530i Sport-Prem, Titanium Silver.

The paint is in a fairly good condition and feels smooth. I`m not planning to go crazy, just two products.

I`m thinking Klasse All-in One, followed by a good carnubba wax like P21S. I also read S100 was good ( what is it?)

How many layers of each should I apply.

When I apply these products, should I apply them over the moonroof glass or not, over the black trim around the side windows?

What should I use as an applicator, and what kind of towels for buffing.

How about the wheels. They are composite style 42 wheels. What`s the best product for tires?

Anything I should be carefull of, any special tricks or tips for this color paint?

Thanks

fw

imported_hayless
04-24-2004, 01:32 PM
FireWalker,

Welcome to Autopia!

I`m a relative newbie here but I`ll jump in and give you my $.02.

1. Does the paint need to be clayed? polished? If not, AIO followed by P21S sounds good if your paint is in very good condition.

2. S100 is a carnuba that is much cheaper than P21S but apparently gives similar results. I have never used S100; however, from what I have gathered it was/is made for motorcylces but works great on cars/trucks.

3. Apply as many as you have the time for. There are some who swear there is no difference between 1 layer and 5 layers and others who do. Try different things and you decide.

4. AIO can be applied on pretty much any surface. I`ve personally used it on rubber, glass, and paint with great results. I don`t recommend carnuba on the glass or vinyl/rubber.

5. You can use foam applicators, terry applicators/terry towels, and MF applicators. I have used all three and it depends on what your trying to do. In my opinion any of the three will do a great job for you.