PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here, looking for something that lasts

MattZ28
04-16-2004, 07:48 PM
Hi I`m Matt, this is my first post here. I have a 1996 Camaro Z28.

I currently use Zaino (I`ve had the whole show car kit since September). It holds up great here in Florida, but after the first wash, it stops beading water mostly. After a few weeks and washes, the water just starts to sheet on the car.

I`ve spoken to Sal Zaino on the phone several times, and he said the Florida water has a high lime content, and MIGHT be causing it. He also said my paint could be oxidized (minorly). So, I washed with Dawn dishwashing liquid, clayed the whole car, buffed it with 3M Swirl mark remover (#39009), and did 3 coats of Z5. Lasted a few weeks.....it`s supposed to last 6 months.

Is there any product out there that will actually last? I don`t mind polishing my car or whatever, I just hate putting a ton of effort into it for the purpose of it lasting and it doesn`t work.

I`ve used several waxes....so far nothing has held up like Zaino does, but even that, like I said, doesn`t last very long.

Thanks for reading my long post,

-Matt

Blk_Mach
04-16-2004, 07:54 PM
maybe klasse might work for you its acrylic

Jcrawford
04-16-2004, 07:57 PM
your best bet is to look at 1z. polish w/ 1z ultra polish followed by paint polish for the oxidation then top it with Glanz Wax. That`s the most durable topper i`ve found. Mine still beaded after almost 8 months. You can also use their perls shampoo to wash your car say every third wash to boost the protection. perls contains polymers which leave a protective layer after a wash.

MattZ28
04-16-2004, 08:06 PM
Can I use the 3M I have now (contains no waxes or additives - doesn`t leave anything on the paint), and then use the Glanz over it? I was looking at that stuff....I might order a bottle. The 3M I use now seems to work great at getting the swirls and stuff out.

BradE
04-16-2004, 08:10 PM