PDA

View Full Version : Broke down and got an orbital....

imported_ajbarnes
03-14-2004, 02:46 PM
That`s right. I figured I`ll give my hands some vacation time after this weekend`s nightmare exterior detail job I did on a 626 and a Vitara and try at a random orbital. This is my first time using a buffer. Every detail I`ve done has been by hand. I just decided I would experiment with it, learn, etc. Once I get the hang of it, I would use on customer`s vehicle`s that really need some work on the paint. For all the newer, luxury, great condition, etc. vehicles, I will stick to using my hands unless they have swirls, etc. I know that a PC is the best, but I want to learn, so therefore I figured I would start with an orbital. I got an inexpensive one from Pepboys....Vector Waxxpro 6" Waxer/Polisher VEC235.....of course this probably wouldn`t produce the kind of results you can get from a PC or a higher priced orbital....but again....I want to experiment and practice first. Any advice for first timers would greatly be appreciated! BTW, I love the results I get by hand, I just wanted to try this out....can`t go around calling myself a detailer and never used a buffer before.:D

Big Leegr
03-15-2004, 04:35 AM
I think you chose a good size. Most I see are the 10" orbitals. You can`t do between roof racks etc. with one that big. Also, once you get used to it, and if you decide to step up to a 7424 or something, you`ll already be familiar with the 6" pad they use. Plus, for just starting with a machine, you really aren`t going to be too likely to do anything damaging to the paint, especially since you already know how products perform by hand.