PDA

View Full Version : Any good tips or methods for hand waxing/polishing?

Bouluki
03-08-2004, 11:47 PM
I tried searching and didn`t realy come up with any good info i was wounder if anyone has any good tips or methods that they use when hand waxing and polishing. Also does waxing and polishing in circular motions create swirls?

imported_WCD
03-09-2004, 01:11 AM
That has long been discussed and argued. Personally, I use very short back and forth motions, mostly using my wrist (high school years built me up for this). :)

I "box" in an area around door trim and edges and then proceed to use the above strokes while slightly overlapping as I add wax. I normally polish with a Cyclo, but when I did by hand I did it in the same manner.

Hope this helps, R Regan

Bouluki
03-09-2004, 09:24 PM
thank for the reply i`ll try to search for more info again, but thank again for advice.

imported_hayless
03-09-2004, 11:06 PM
Bouluki,

Being a newbie myself I can`t rely on my extensive detailing knowlege but I`ll tell you what I have read/learn in the last month or so.

Polishing/Waxing using circular motions, in and of itself, does not cause swirls. It depends more on the type of material, type of product, and amount of pressure used than the direction. I personally use light left-to-right motions for the sides of the vehicle and front-to-back motions for the front/back/top of the vehicle.

From what I gather (and it makes sense), using this type of motion for washing/waxing/polishing/drying reduces the chances of actually seeing scratches.

Remember when washing/waxing/polishing/drying to rotate your cloth often to ensure a clean side is always on your paint.

If I`ve goofed on any of this I hope some of the experts will correct me.

Joey

Sveta
03-09-2004, 11:28 PM
Originally posted by Bouluki

I tried searching and didn`t realy come up with any good info .... -----------------------