PDA

View Full Version : Question about broken glass..........

imported_ajbarnes
03-05-2004, 08:11 PM
Last night something or someone hit the rear glass panel near the trunk area of my `03 Chevy Tracker!:mad:

I got a question for my fellow autopians. I don`t know if any of you have any experience with this, but some advice would definitely be appreciated. My question is, would I be able to put some tape over the glass to keep the window from shattering until I am able to get it replaced? My mother`s friend recommended that to me since she experienced this before, and she has done this method...apparently it worked for her until she was able to get it fixed. One of biggest worries, is that the tracker is not all that of a smooth ride, and I have a Flowmaster muffler installed....would all the vibration and hard bumps I`ll hit cause the window to shatter even with the tape on?

Below you`ll see a picture of the headache!

I don`t know.:nixweiss Anyone have any suggestions, tips, etc.? Thanks!:up

Avy B.

shaf
03-06-2004, 02:30 AM
Ouch... too bad about that. :(

Personally, if this is tempered side window glass, I don`t think tape is going to keep it from all falling apart if it`s all spidered, like it appears to be. Unless you mean you`re going to put tape over the whole window, totally covering it....?

imported_ajbarnes
03-06-2004, 06:17 AM
Originally posted by 4DSC

Ouch... too bad about that. :(

Personally, if this is tempered side window glass, I don`t think tape is going to keep it from all falling apart if it`s all spidered, like it appears to be. Unless you mean you`re going to put tape over the whole window, totally covering it....?

Yeah, I was going to completely cover the whole glass, inside and out.........eeewwww.....how ugly would that look!:eek:

Don
03-06-2004, 08:12 AM
Actually your window tint is doing exactly what you want the tape for. It it hadn`t been for the tint film, the window would have already collapsed.