PDA

View Full Version : Different types of waxes?

NorcalZ71
03-05-2004, 02:05 AM
so what waxes are goor which applications? ive read through a lot of posts and am still semi confused. what is a glaze and its purpose? whats the difference between NXT and P21S and Klasse etc etc........when would you use them in combination? basically im really confused, it seems like certain waxes serve certain purposes and im not quite sure which is which. if it helps any, i have a 94 midnighte blue silverado. the paint is in pretty good condition (except front of rockers, wider tires arent nice on those). right now i am using gold class wax, but clearly that seems to be an amateur item, which i am an amateur at this

Accumulator
03-05-2004, 12:05 PM
This CAN be confusing. People use terms like "glaze", "wax", etc. in a lot of different and contradictory ways.

GENERALLY, you have synthetics such as Klasse, NXT, BF, P UPP, Zaino, etc. then you have CARNAUBA WAXES such as P21S, Meg`s #16, Souveran, Collinite, and your Gold Class. There are some overlaps because many "waxes" also have some synthetic stuff in them. As I recall, the Gold Class is one of those "overlap" products.

There`s a subtly different look between the two groups, and the synthetics USUALLY last longer. It`s really hard to generalize more than that. Most people will be happiest just using a) whatever they find easy/pleasant to use, and b) whatever gives them a "look" that they like. Don`t worry about "amateur" products vs. "pro" products, or "cheap" vs. "boutique". Just try some different stuff and see what YOU like. There are a *ZILLION* threads about what we all prefer ;)

NorcalZ71
03-05-2004, 02:17 PM
hey thanks man, i just found an article on here too finally that explained it a lot more. sounds like i might want to dry a carnuba in the summer, and then a synthetic topped by carnuba in the winter for some more durability?