PDA

View Full Version : Rain-X, Aquapel and etc...

armoredsaint
12-04-2003, 10:35 AM
I have been using Rain-x for over 10 years since high school, is there a better alternative. I heard about Aquapel, but is that from the dealer only? Thanks

beastie
12-04-2003, 11:04 AM
I used to use RainX but I could`t stand the glare that I get in certain lighting conditions. I use Klasse AIO on my glass surfaces and I get a similar rain shedding effect with greatly reduced glare. AIO is not meant specifically to give the RainX effect but it does a very good job. I still have to determine if it`s as good as RainX in making frost removal easier.

I have not applied RainX on my car for over 2 1/2 years.

Jngrbrdman
12-04-2003, 11:40 AM
You can find Aquapel online sometimes. Its kind of expensive compared to RainX, but people say they like it better. If you use RainX right then there shouldn`t be a problem. I`ve been using it for 7 or 8 years now I think. I just apply it before I wash the car and then make sure I wash down the windshield really well with the mitt. That takes care of all the glare and smearing. I`ve never had a problem with it.

Bill D
12-04-2003, 02:44 PM
Aquapel :up

imported_Greg
12-04-2003, 03:02 PM
Second vote for Aquapel. Used both, Aquapel for life. Try Ebay or do a search. Some websites sell it for ~$10/app which is good for probably a year.

volvostud
12-04-2003, 10:13 PM
Aquapel is great stuff. Easy to apply and it works! I had to buy it on ebay, but that was no problem. I did have problems with chattering blades at first (in drizzly conditions), but it went away after a little while.

gusman
12-05-2003, 10:57 AM
Glare problems with RainX? I`ve found that a dampened sueded microfiber does extremely well when buffing RainX after its application. Haven`t any streaking or glare problems.

armoredsaint
12-05-2003, 03:39 PM