PDA

View Full Version : Swirl Solution? (Pic)

Pages : [1] 2

JayJayPG
11-30-2003, 04:17 PM
Hey guys,

I took the best picture I could of the swirl marks on the hood of my Eclipse. My GS-R never had this problem so I am new to the whole swirl removal process. I`ve done some searching, but I am still a little confused as to what products/procedure to follow.

So far I have dawn washed followed by Mothers clay, Vanilla Moose Glaze, and S100. Last week I test spotted with some Meguiar`s Showcar Glaze (#9 I think), but they are still showing.

I`m wondering if I could get by with just a swirl mark remover, but I don`t know if it is going to get the job done. Does this look like a job for DACP?

http://www.autopia.org/gallery/data/500/3621mvc-004f.jpg

stilez
11-30-2003, 04:33 PM
Mmmm... Doesn`t look healthy.

You can`t go wrong with DACP, but I highly suggest Meguiar`s Swirl Free Polish after the DACP pass. DACP leaves a level surface but it moves the paint and is to thick of a cut to finish up on. The Swirl Free realllly levels it out and makes it look amazing. Then proceed with your sealant or carnauba.

Are you planning on doing it with a machine? This would be a good time to invest in a Porter Cable or Makita Rotary...

Good Luck Jay.

adrianko43
11-30-2003, 06:29 PM
what do u mean that it is too thick of a cut to finish up on?

imported_RIC
11-30-2003, 06:34 PM
He means you will need a finer polish after using DACP. DACP does not leave your finish shiny and polished enough before applying your favorite sealant or wax.

LightngSVT
11-30-2003, 07:24 PM
How does Medium cut, fine cut (#9?) and SMR compare to DACP and SFP?

stilez
11-30-2003, 08:40 PM
Yeah Jay, what RIC said is what I meant.

DACP is a medium to high cut (moves paint, removes more serious blemishes)

SFP is a fine cut (removes very light swirling, leaves a glistening finish)

3M SMR does more filling of swirls then removing. Check out the Finesse It Series from 3M instead.

JayJayPG