PDA

View Full Version : Why dealerships suck

spetulla
11-21-2003, 01:35 PM
I used to work as a lot attendant at the biggest cadillac dealership chain in the country (LUND).

Let me go over some things the detailers and the lot attendants there were trained to do:

-use lacquer thinner on tough spots on the car without putting wax back over it

-use steel wool on windshields all the time

-rotary buff with a heavy cut cleaner followed by maybe one polish and a weak weak wax- leaving a HEAVY HEAVY swirl marks.

-use a highly abrasive wheel dressing that splattered onto the body

-use dirty towels when wiping the body down- all the time.

-wash the car with a power washer- all the time

-use extremely cheap products-discouraged from using anything else

-use glass cleaner on leather

-clean carpet with a solvent that would leave stains months later

this was on escalades, hummers, and EXTs

DO NOT EVER EVER take your car to a dealership! I tried to be meticulous and take my time and use proper detailing methods and was RUSHED and SCOLDED by my ex-boss (who was a meathead steroid gambler who cheated on his wife). I ended up having poor relations with my boss becuase I refused to "detail" a car or put a car on the lot or clean a car to be DELIVERED in 30-60 minutes including wash! I now no longer work there, thankfully.

Green Mantis
11-21-2003, 03:03 PM