PDA

View Full Version : Some hazing and swirls

2002 Maxima SE
11-12-2003, 02:14 PM
I`ve noticed that my paint has that not-so-new look to it. Some swirls are starting to show, especially after the PUPP has warn off. After doing some reading and budgeting, I decided to try the following approach:

1)Mequiar`s Deep Crystal Paint Cleaner

2)Mequiar`s # 7

3)Mequiar`s #20 or #26 or Platinum Ultimate Paint Protection

I would like to purchase a PC, to do this but this is my first time using a pc.

1)What pads should I use?

2)Do I use a circular motion or a figure 8? (I know to slow down on the edges of the car).

3)Will this strategy remove most (if not all) of my haze and swirls and leave me with a deep shine?

4)Are the materials too aggressive? Not aggressive enough?

Keep in mind this is for a 2002 Nissan Maxima which has thin paint from the factory. Thanks!

dmatre
11-12-2003, 04:34 PM
My experience has been with mostly Griot`s Garage products, so my recommendations come from that background. I use their ORANGE pads for polishing, and the RED pads for waxing.

As for using the PorterCable Orbital, set the speed at about 5 or 5-1/2. Move the buffer back-and-forth, and then up-and-down, moving slightly with each pass, in order to cover the entire panel being worked on.

Make 2 passes in each direction (passing over each spot on the panel 4 times), in order to ensure even polishing, or even product application.

I`m not familiar with the products that you`re using, but if the #7 is a very mild polish, you should end up with a stunning result.

No worries about the Maxima paint - my wife`s last car was a Maxima. Nissan did a great job with the paint, and with the PC, it`s almost impossible to screw it up (unless you choose a very abrasive polish).

Remember: The quality of the job depends on the quality of the preparation. Be certain to completely wash the car, to remove any dirt/dust.