PDA

View Full Version : UK Noob questions

Pages : [1] 2

tnoy66
11-11-2003, 12:49 PM
Sorry for asking dumb questions but........

I keep reading about using Dawn to strip the car of old waxes first, as we don`t have this in UK what should I use instead?? Will any washing up liquid do??

Secondly, I have ordered some P21S Paintwork Cleanser. Is there any need to clay before or after this??

I have never used clay before, and until I looked on here I hadn`t even heard of it! What would be the best clay to get if I need to use it??

My car is a 2 month old BMW, Mystic Blue color (sort of mid blue metallic), carefully covered in fine swirl/scratch marks by the dealer :angry

Tony :)

ohms69
11-11-2003, 01:06 PM
Hi mate,

````` liquid would be the equivalent, but to my mind this is way too harsh for automotive use.

The dawn wash is recomended for those applying Zaino, basically to strip any previous waxes/sealents so you have a clean base to work on and the Zaino to bond to.

The P21s will clean the paint and basically do the same job as the `````, without being harsh on your finish.

You should clay after washing and then use the P21s. I bought the 3m clay and have been very impressed...It is a little expensive, but being stuck in blighty means we aren`t really spoilt for choice.

Well worth it though IMHO.

All the best

Bryn

Lowejackson
11-11-2003, 02:53 PM
Clay? Buy some, you will not regret it.

As for the swirls, you will need a polish to remove them or a glaze, however a glaze does not last a long time.

What other products are you using?

Steven

tnoy66
11-12-2003, 02:35 AM
Bryn, I was thinking of `````, but as I`ve been `brainwashed` into not using washing-up liquid, I was having a hard time telling myself to use it. So I`ll continue not using it :)

Steven, the products I`ve got on order are,

Sonax Gloss Shampoo

P21S Paintwork Cleanser (as mentioned)

Klasse AIO

Klasse SG

P21S Carnauba Wax

Sonus Acrylic Spritz