PDA

View Full Version : Previous Owner Mistreated Mercedes!!! I`m shocked! How to clean?

Pages : [1] 2

BLK98SLK
11-07-2003, 03:02 PM
Hello, everyone! I am a complete newbie to this forum. Please explain all products and where to get them if possible. I would really appreciated it. Thanks.

I bought this mercedes off the guy....its a 98 slk230 as mentioned in my previous post.....anyway, I finally got it the other day and WTF? Dirt particles are freakin stuck to the car. I can remove them with my nails but other than that, if you run a cloth through them, they wont come off........I dunno if this guy ever EVEN WAXED HIS CAR! I dont think he really cared much for it since he`s well off and all........but now that I have it, i gotta take care of mah baby. So anyway, what`s the best method for removal? Should I just do regular sponge bath? Wouldn`t that scratch up the paint even more? Or put some sorta oil on it first?.....no....wait.....that would cause paint to come off......lol...by the way, I did buy it because I got a good deal on it...17K, 36K miles.

pics (http://web.tampabay.rr.com/apatel3/)

imported_kgb
11-07-2003, 03:10 PM
To explain all products would take years. Your best bet is to search these forums for a while and you will start to see what people like, dislike, and so on.

Scottwax
11-07-2003, 03:15 PM
Wash and clay the paint.

BLK98SLK
11-07-2003, 03:20 PM
Sombody else from another forum recommended this method:

If you choose option B here is a summary of what you`ll want to do (in the shade or a garage if you have one):

1.) Wash the car thoroughly (don`t worry about drying right now). This will require 2 buckets (1 w/soap, 1 plain rinse water) and a lambswool wash mitt. (AKA 2 bucket method, see Autopia for details)

2.) Clay the entire car... instructions can be found at Autopia. You decide if you want to buy clay off the net or get some Mothers stuff from a local Walmart.