PDA

View Full Version : How can I get a SHARP shine on black?

Pages : [1] 2 3

KenSilver
10-22-2003, 11:32 PM
I studied this forum all ways and discovered questions that ask for the `ultimate`, the `wettest`, the `most reflective` shine, and their answers.

But none seem to tell me how to get the `sharpest` shine. By this, I mean a highly reflective, deep black on my grey-black Mercedes. A crisp black. One that cuts the air.

At best, using Meguair`s `s #7 and Gold Class paste, I can get my SL500 looking better than most - probably in the top 5% - but sometimes a newer car will cruise by me with such a beautiful crisp shine that I`m ready to give up.

One of the views that best shows the effect I want is at:

http://www.mbcoupes.com/memberscars/T/satishtummala/cleansec1.htm

That car simply jumps out at you.

The problem with my Merc is that the paint is not a true black. While I call it a gray-black, the official color is green-black. But `gray` describes the color better.

Because it is a lighter shade of black, I`m not going to get optimum reflection - I realise that. But I need to upscale the shine badly to wing it with the big boys on this forum! :)

And does putting wax over wax or multi-layers of polish really work? How much of the layering is actually redundant here? I ask because when I put extra coats of Gold Class on, I notice no difference in appearance at all. Surely I haven`t reached the limit of shine!

By the way, I know my question has been answered many times in many ways on the forum. I`ve tried using the answers given by the top dogs here. But I always end up with no appreciably better result. My shine is maxed out at this level.

I need help!

Ken Silver

--------------

1993 Mercedes SL500, 1991 Daimler (Vanden Plas), 1992 Miata MX5 ... Finish detailing them, then start all over again...

GoodnClean
10-23-2003, 12:06 AM